William F. White Annual TIFF Event Toasts Established Clients and Celebrates Upcoming Creatives with Grant Scholarships

Thursday, Sep 12, 2019

On Tuesday, September 10th, we held our annual TIFF event on the rooftop of the TIFF Bell Lightbox. Staff, clients, colleagues and friends joined us for an evening celebrating the thriving Canadian film industry. Amidst the festivities, two company-sponsored scholarship awards were given out to three winners.


Chairman/CEO Paul Bronfman with Ajuawak Kapashesit, one of two inaugural winners of the Jay Switzer Comweb/William F. White Indigenous Creator Scholarship

The Jay Switzer Comweb/William F. White Indigenous Creator Scholarship was announced last year in partnership with the Canadian Film Centre to honour Jay Switzer’s passing in 2018. The scholarship, administered through the Canadian Film Centre, will distribute $100,000 over the course of 10 years.


This year’s award went to two creatives; Ajuawak Kapashesit, who recently starred in the Clint Eastwood-produced drama Indian Horse and Amy Halloran, a Montreal-based Metis writer who most recently adapted Rest Stop, a short story by Stephen King. Amy, who was unfortunately not present at the event to accept her award, is shown pictured above.


Paul Bronfman with Sam Kilpatrick, the 2019 William F. White/Vilmos Zsigmond Cinematography Scholarship winner and VP, Business Development, Rick Perotto

The William F. White/Vilmos Zsigmond Cinematography Scholarship was created in 2017 to honour Vilmos Zigmond’s passing in 2016. The scholarship has annually awarded a post-secondary student studying Cinematography with $3,000 towards their upcoming academic year. This year’s winner is 2nd year Humber College student, Sam Kilpatrick.

Congratulations to all the award recipients and thanks to everyone who helped make this event such a tremendous success!